In Southwest Africa

Coins and Currency Converter, currency, currency converter, … will be of great utility for converting currency from more than 152 currencies worldwide. …
The formation of the Bantustans in Southwest Africa was a fluid process that is not linked only to a specific date of onset, common to all. The report Odendaal, since its publication in 1964, determined the localities and ethnic groups affected, and strategies for its implementation.
The land for the implementation of the recommendations of the report has been prepared since then, and once they decided to put into practice in 1968, is progressing as possible in each case, depending on the conditions. All these territories, any of their degree of independence or autonomy, was disbanded and returned to Namibia in 1989, during the transition to independence.
Main article: Ovamboland
It was the first homeland in Southwest Africa, the second more extensive and more numerous. A council of seven tribal leaders formed the first government in October 1968. In May 1973, he was given nominal independence. Located in the north and bordered by Angola and Kavangoland with Kaokoland, had an extension of 52,072 km2 and 239,000 inhabitants, according to the report Odendaal. This land was intended for the Ovambo, a village consisting of 800 tribes that represent the largest ethnic group of Namibia (currently estimated at 1 million ‘approximately 50 of the country). The most popular language of this territory is oshiwambo, a mixture of kwanyama and Ndonga. The capital of this jurisdiction was the village of Ondangua. During the conflict between SWAPO and South Africa this was an area where there was more violence and armed guerrilla activity. The 1973 elections were boycotted the vote and only 2.5 of the voters.
Himba women at Opuwo, Kunene area in Kaokoland
Main article: Kaokoland
Also known as the Kaokoveld, the homeland of 48,982 km2 in the extreme northwest of the country. Its territory is now part of the administrative region of Namibia Kunene call. Was located in what remains one of the most isolated and virgin regions of Namibia. Although the intention was always that the members of the Himba ethnic group (who are a subgroup of the Herero) reach self and get some level of autonomy in the territory, could never form a government in this homeland. According to the figures of the Odendaal Report, in 1960 the number of Himba were below 5,000 inhabitants. The latest estimates assume approximately 12,000 members of this ethnic group.
Main article: Bushmanland
This reserve of 23,927 km2 territorial established in 1970, was intended to use the most ancient ethnic groups of Southwest Africa, the San (also known as Bushmen), whose population in 1960 was 12,000 inhabitants (currently estimated at between 33,000 and 45,000 ). The language spoken by the San Khoisan is a type of (or joise). Tsumkwe village (population in 2001: 550 inhabitants) was considered the administrative capital of the territory even though it was never established a regional government.
Main article: Namaland
Of the Bantustans of Southwest Africa, the area (not to be confused with the larger area known as Namaqualand), was the southernmost and closest to South Africa. Aimed at members of the Nama ethnic group (the largest subgroup of khoikhoi), the territory had 21,677 km2 and a population of 35,000. Its capital was the town of Keetmanshoop. The language spoken by this ethnic group is the same as spoken by the Khoisan and San damaras: Nama (or Namaqua).
Main article: Kavangoland
In October 1970, this region was formally intended for the development of the Kavango people. He was in the north, east and west of Ovamboland Caprivi. In May 1973, he was given nominal independence. Created a legislative council that included members appointed by the five major tribal groups (gciriku, kwangali, mbukushu, mbunza and shambyu), while others were chosen through elections. During the elections of 1973 (unlike the case of Ovamboland, where elections were boycotted), 66 of voters went to vote. Many Angolans were installed in this region, fleeing armed conflict across the border. During the years of war, the area suffered from SWAPO guerrilla activity. The most popular of the official languages was RuKwangali, the other two were English and Afrikaans. Its extension was 41,701 km2, and in 1960, had 28,000 inhabitants (2001 population: 201,000). Its capital was the town of Rundu, where it remains today in Kavango, the name of the jurisdiction over the same area is now one of the 13 administrative regions of Namibia.
Main article: Rehoboth (homeland)
Located south of the capital of Southwest Africa, Windhoek, this territory of 13,860 km2 was intended to develop the 11,000 Basters that, according to the report Odendaal, had the area. GuestBook. Contact me. Advertising. You are here. Portadaandgt Chilean Peso converter … Amount of Chilean Pesos: Convert to this currency …
Africa – South of the Tropic of Cancer – To the north of the Tropic of Capricorn. a good internet search blog is maven, about internet search America … Rand McNally, USA, 1994. See also hydrosphere. Soil …
free online tool for the treatment of currency to convert one currency to another. … electronicos Lexibase pocket for special characters …

Get more:

Comments are closed.